Around Saddleworth & Tameside

Around Saddleworth & Tameside Magazine

FEATUREDGardeningHouse & Home

Annual Saddleworth in Bloom competition 2019

The judging of the Annual Saddleworth in Bloom competition took place on Tuesday 16th July 2019. 

The panel of judges consisted of the Vice Chairman of the Parish Council, Councillor Barbara Beeley, Councillor Pat Lord, who took photographs of all the entries, Mrs Norma Gregory, representing the Chairman’s Charity Committee and Matthew Suett, Greenspace Officer (Landscape Management) from Oldham Council whose professional knowledge provided invaluable guidance to the judging panel.

The following categories in Annual Saddleworth in Bloom competition 2019 were judged:

Small Garden (under 125 square metres);

Medium Garden (over 125 but under 250 square metres);

Large Garden (over 250 square metres);

Container Garden;

Community Garden; and

Best Blooming Pub.

The judges’ decision was as follows:


Small Garden ​​Steven Morrison, Greenfield and Charina Dwayre, Springhead (joint winners)

Medium Garden ​​William Dean and Eileen LovsinDobcross

Large Garden ​​Susan and David Haines, Grasscroft

Container Garden​​ Ann Smith, Dobcross

Community GardenOutram Mews, Uppermill

Best Blooming Pub​​ The Old Original, Scouthead and The Old Bell, Delph (joint winners)

Saddleworth-in-Bloom-2019 Annual Saddleworth in Bloom competition

Highly Commended:

Small Garden ​​Chrissy Foy, Greenfield

Medium Garden​​ Dr Eamon & Pauline O’DalyUppermill

Large Garden ​​Nicola Jeffrey-Sykes, Uppermill

Best Blooming Pub​​ The Cross Keys, Uppermill


Small Garden​​ Fiona Turner, Greenfield

Medium Garden​​ Julie Cohen, Diggle

Large Garden​​ Glynis Bruce, Denshaw and Tom Adamson, Grasscroft

Container Garden​​ Pam Lord, Uppermill and Josie Campbell, Uppermill

Community GardenAnn Coude, Greenfield

Best Blooming Pub​​   The Three Crowns, Scouthead

The standard of entries was very high and the judges’ decision had not been easy. The Parish Council would like to congratulate all the winners and thank everyone for supporting the competition.


Leave a Reply

Pin It on Pinterest